The reason that most people are in debt is the overuse as well as irresponsible use of credit cards. Banks ought to do a background check and only issue credit cards to individuals who have the ability to pay back their debts. What is your opinion?

There is currently a contentious argument over whether financial institutions should check the consumers' previous financial behaviour or not. I totally agree with the opinion because this could guarantee safety for society and individuals. The mains reason why do a background check is important is because it is an efficient way to protect the economy. This is due to the fact that banks carry out of a country's economy. Therefore, as they regulate the market they need to protect the system from fraudsters or deceptive transactions, which is arduous to reach since the internet was invented, so they can avoid that people spend money that they do not have. A good example here could be the crises in 2009 when most of the companies in the world bankrupt because there was no previous analysis in mortgages from the banks which cause a collapse in the system. Another reason why I believe that everyone should have their background checked in regard to their own protection. It is known that some people have problems when it comes to financial education, which can bring about serious problems for them. Thus, as some people do not know how to cope with money or the lack of it, the institutions should carry out this service for them. Thus, if the institution calls for a previous analysis the consumers that are unable to deal with money will be protected since they will not have a credit card issued by the bank. In conclusion, I agree that financial institutions should do a background check in order to protect the economy and the individuals. It seems that this is the only way to prevent surprises from both parts the banks as consumers for spending too much money.