Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others. To what extent is this style of management effective? Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

Nowadays, corporate companies reward their staff with the best performance with a cash prize or benefits in some other form. While this is one of the effective ways to encourage their peers to put their best performance, other measures could be taken to make the work progress drastically. To begin with, most of the companies have attached the salary increment to the performance variable. In other words, providing the workers with incentives will trigger a healthy competition amongst their peers. Secondly, the hardworking employees are also given spot-awards as a token of appreciation for excelling in performance. For example, the corporate giant Walmart selects an employee every month for his/her hard work and acknowledges them with "The best employee of the month" award. This would give them the push needed and an edge over their teammates. There are multiple ways to boost employees performance. One possible way is to assess the work assignments in a timely manner and provide regular feedback for improvements, if any. This would give them the insight to know about their positives and negatives, and they could work on it accordingly. Another method to motivate workers is to gift them a paid-vacation for a longer period than the current standard norm. As a result, this would bind them to love what they do and also be loyal to the firm they work for. In conclusion, although rewards, corporate-gifts and incentives play a crucial role in acknowledging staff, management can implement other creative ways that were suggested above to increase efficiency.