The reason that most people are in debt is the overuse as well as irresponsible use of credit cards. Banks ought to do a background check and only issue credit cards to individuals who have the ability to pay back their debts. What is your opinion?

During the past decade or two, there has been a rapid increase in the usage of credit cards. However, unfortunately, not all the card owners are clearing the debt. This essay completely agrees with the statement that banks need to do stringent checks before issuing the credit cards. This essay asserts the opinion stated using two reasons first, customer spending money lavishly, and second, banks not doing relevant background checks before issuing the cards. To begin with, cardholders spending money extravagantly could always be a threat to pay post-paid card bills. For example, if an employee buys a very costly car than a normal car, in a desire to lead life comfortably that could be a possible reason to not pay the debt in time. Here, it is understood that employee in rush to lead life conveniently, is trying to spend recklessly by buying a car whose price is exorbitant. If people think pragmatically, these things can be avoided and there will be fewer debts. Moving on to the second reason where user debts can be reduced is, by doing strict and relevant checks of user-profiles for whom the cards are to be issued. For instance, banks usually offer credit cards based on the employee's payslip or salary, but the risk here is if the person loses his job the debt remains in the backlog. If banks form more stringent rules like agreeing to some legal conditions in case debt is not paid, people will become more serious and tend to pay bills. To conclude, the excessive usage of credit cards leads to debts in banks. Therefore, it is obvious that there is a need to clear these debts. Upon thorough analysis on this subject, it can be said that this scenario can be avoided by customers spending frugally and banks inspecting user-profiles and establishing rigid rules.