Most employers do job interview before offering a position to a person. Do you think this is the best way to do it? What is the best method of choosing employees in your opinion?

Many companies conduct interviews before making a job offer to someone. This essay will argue that this is not the most appropriate way to recruit people because the interview is not a true reflection of a person’s ability. The best method is to give people a standardized test designed to assess on-the-job performance. Conducting interviews is not a very effective recruitment method because it does not give the interviewee a chance to show how good they really are. The skills tested in an interview, such as the ability to communicate in a friendly manner and answering questions without any assistance, are the opposite of those required by many jobs. For example, a skilled computer programmer or lab technician may be socially awkward and used to consult the internet before answering the question, and they would never be able to show how technically proficient they are. A better way to find new employees would be to test them on things that they will actually be doing on the job. This is more reliable because it tests the specific skills they will use on a daily basis and not just an interview technique. Often, companies will invite someone to their offices for a whole day and ask them to complete routine tasks and ask a manager to give feedback on their performance. For instance, Facebook gives potential programmers a real program to debug or asks them to hack into their system. In conclusion, interviews have limitations because they often test interviewing skill rather than job-related skills, and a better test would be to give prospects a challenge that simulates the real job.