As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers? Give reasons for your answer and give any relevant example or experience you have to support your answer.

Work claims a major part of people’s adult life and for mental health and wellbeing it is very important for them to be content with their jobs. There are many things that can make people happy with their professional lives. This essay will shed light on some of them and discuss why in the modern world a satisfying / rewarding working environment is no longer a fool’s hope. There are personal and work place factors that can help achieve a content professional life. On a personal level if someone is passionate about their work, they will naturally feel more driven and happier about doing it and will not consider it a burden. Employers can also do a few things to ensure their workers are happy. For instance, appreciating someone’s hard work makes them feel good and urges them to do even better. Similarly, providing a stress free healthy working environment to the employees makes them feel relaxed and content about their jobs. In the past, the concept of job satisfaction was not considered important by either the employers or the employees. Employers were only concerned about getting the job done and employees, no matter how stressed out they were, were forced to deliver at their jobs. On the contrary, these days there is increasing awareness about how a stressful work environment affects individual wellbeing. Most companies now have regular mental health awareness seminars and offer their workers support regarding any problems they might be facing at work. Even the employers have realised that their employees can deliver their best only in a relaxed work place. Therefore, the expectation of job satisfaction not only is realistic, but also very much within the reach of most professionals. To conclude, I believe doing something one is passionate about in a supportive work environment can help achieve a content and happy professional life.