Nowadays, children watch a lot of tv and play video games. However, some people think that these activities are not good for a child’s mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advent of technology, indoor activities like watching television and playing video games have increased immensely. A popular belief is that watching television is healthy for the mind of children. However, in its sharp contrast, others opine that these activities affect their mental health. I support the latter view and believe that such activities hurt the child's intellectual ability. First and foremost, watching television for a longer duration affects the eyesight of the children, consequently leading to visual impairment. Many children have started wearing prescription glasses at an early age because of playing video games. Secondly, playing video games hurt their mental health, for example, playing shooting games or fighting games leads to insane behaviour and make them more arrogant. Thirdly, owing to indoor activities, many children are suffering from obesity which results in cardiac-related diseases. Additionally, if the children actively participate in outdoor physical activities, they will inhale fresh air which will make their mind rejuvenate and will boost their competitive skills. Children should be motivated to participate in yoga which is itself an indoor activity, it not only helps to foster the mind but also make them calm and subtle. In a survey conducted by The Times of India, children who did yoga frequently were able to concentrate more on the academics those compared to the one watching television. To conclude, although watching television and playing video games amalgamates the children's knowledge; mental health and peace cannot be compromised. Children should be encouraged to be more involved in yoga and sports which keeps them calmer and in harmony.