Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays lots of questions related to personal interests and hobbies are being asked to a lot of candidates in an interview. There is a view that having these discussions helps in judging the personal traits of a person while others believe that questions should be strictly professional and related to work. In my opinion asking about some degree of personal information always helps an employer in judging whether the candidate is a right fit for the particular job but there should be certain boundaries to what type of personal information is being gathered. The type of questions being asked in an interview depends on what an employer is looking for in a person. For example, if the position is of a team lead or a people manager, the candidate should have a prior personal experience of handing people and should have interest in managerial activities. Sometimes there are questions pertaining to marital status of a particular applicant. These queries do help the interviewer to access how comfortable an employee would be working for that firm. For example if a candidate is married and his/her spouse works in a different location, there would obviously be an inclination to get a job in the same location. However, in some cases the personal information can be misused by the employers or can be used as a tool to discriminate among candidates. There are cases where political preferences or difference in ideologies between interviewer and interviewee has led to rejections. In conclusion, probing applicant’s personal information can be useful only if it is done within a certain limit and should have some motive to access the candidate’s suitability to the particular role but should not be sole criteria for rejecting or selecting an aspirant.