Since the 18th century technological advances have replaced people in the workplace. With today’s technology this process is happening at a greater rate. Technology is increasingly responsible for unemployment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

Development in technology have allow the replacement of workers in industries since the 1700. Nowadays, this substitution rate is increasing fastly thanks to the progress in automation. I strongly believe that this situation wil interupt because there are types of jobs that can not be done by robots and many other need personal relationships that only humans can satisfy. Firstly, there are a lot of works complicated which need an expert employee to be successfully complete. Despite the advancement in the high tech sector, machines are not able yet to carry out the most difficult tasks. Works like finacial analyst and doctor required many abilities and competences that are too advance for be done by an artifical intelligence. To instance, universities all over the world, especially the Bologna's university, are testing many robots to try to improve their abilities to perform better in different jobs but still with bad results. Secondly, human relations are fundamental in a large numbers of sectors. In fact, in the hospitality field this characteristic represent one the most important factor of the businesses success. Plenty of people choose a hotel or a restaurant for the quality of service offered by workers instad of a good room or amazing foods. For example, in Japan machines have substituted waiters in a wide number of restaurants but with negative results. While human employees make you feel emotions with good words and amazing stories, robots could not let try these experiences. To conclude, even if the automation technology is developing fastly there are still many jobs that can not be done by robots because are too difficult or need an approach that only a human is able to do rightly.