Many crimes are often related to the consumption of alcohol. Some people think that the best way to reduce crime rate is to ban alcohol. Do you think this is an effective measure against crime? What other solutions can you suggest?

There are many offences that result from drinking alcohol. Some say that the best solution to decrease the crime rate is to make alcohol illegal. Although, this is an effective step to reduce the crime rate but other measures like raising the awareness of how alcohol causes crimes is also equally impactful. To begin with, stealing, vandalism or even serious crimes like murders happen under the influence of alcohol. People often get drunk with whiskey, beer, or rum extra and lose control of themselves. They get agitated, and conduct various crimes. To reduce the crime rate, putting a ban on alcohol is a good step as illegal things are not easily available. Therefore, it will result in less drinking by people and ultimately, fewer crimes. For example, in,Indonesia the government made the consumption of alcohol illegal to decline the crime rate in 2000 and after 5 years of this ban, resulted in a 20% reduction in offences related to drinking alcohol. There are other methods like making people aware of the crimes resulted from the drinking of beer, wine, whiskey also helps to reduce the crime rate as people become aware effects of alcohol on them, on their loved ones and on society. When people know the side effects of something they avoid doing those things. For instance, in a recent article in The Tribune newspaper, 10% of people who attend classes on the alcohol drinking behaviour and results, stop drinking alcohol which leads to fewer offences. In conclusion, although banning alcohol is a good method to decline the crime rate, however, other effective steps like making people aware of the impacts of alcohol are also helpful.