Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that people change their preference regarding hoppies hobbies and interests based on what is trending rather than their true desires of doing what they want in their leisure. In my opinion, I tend to agree partly with this statement because not all individuals' leisure activities are determined by what is trending. The popularity of certain hobbies and interests are more likely to have an immense influance on peoples' choices about spending their free time. This is because humans have nature instinct in following what most others are doing in order to become part of the group, which stimulates to engage in trending activities. For instance, most of the children and teenagers are playing popular video games such as fortnite due to its popularity among their peers rather than their preference for this type of games. This would sometimes result in taking wrongfull wrongfully choices regarding how to spend their time effectively. However, not all chosen hobbies are based on a certain trend because it could be a passion that drive individuals for practicing these activites inspite of their prominence. A typical example of this is that football has always been considered one of the dominant sports in the world, and many players dedicate a great time in playing this sport as it is deemed as representation of their real desire and inclination. As a result, it justifies how these individuals excel in preforming their hobbies during their leisure. In conclusion, while it's true that some hobbies are popular temporarily, I believe that there are some interests which can last for long term.