Nowdays people make new friends throught social network and internet chat groups. some people think this is good. Others think that face to face interaction is essential. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the development of modern technologies, the internet is advancing at an amazing speed. One of the factors for this, is the social media channels availability. Nowadays, it absorbs all the free time of people by offering differ entertaining activities such as new acquaintances, keeping up with friends, various discussion club portals etc. In this essay I will discuss the pros and cons of internet-made friends. On one hand, in the age of change, people are welcoming cutting-edge technologies warmly. They shorten the distance, ensure connection via different channels plus it is not costly at all. To start a conversation with a stranger is not a big deal and often people feel more confident while making the first step to start a conversation. Everyone is free to express his/her opinion unanimously whereas in public you cannot go incognito. I remember my friend George who wanted to marry a girl but could not take any step forward towards his beloved one. I advised him to keep in touch with that girl via Facebook. After a while, George thanked me and talked about their first date. On the other hand, face to face conversations with people is crucial. The person wearing a mask and pretending to be someone different can be easily recognized. Connections made in real life are more trustworthy and long-lasting. However, if fake acquaintance can be easily deleted and blocked from your contact list in social media without any serious consequences, in the real world it may have grave traumas such as panic, stress, insomnia etc. As an example, I have experienced huge disappointment when I realized I am cheated with my friend. I have lost my faith in humanity for a long time and was struggled a lot while trying to overcome the bad experience I had with him. To sum up making friends in a virtual reality is not that terrifying that it seems. Friendship can start in virtual reality and then can easily be transferred into the real world.