Some employers offer their employees subsidized membership of gym and other sport clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Consider the argument from both aspect of this possible debate and reach a conclusion

Most employer's goals in a company is being able to maximize every potential and skill of an employee and how it can be useful to the organisation. One of the ways to achieve this is by providing extra curriculum activities in the work environment, like giving a reduced membership cost to join sports clubs and others. All these can be of great benefit to the company and can also turn out to affect the company negatively. Furthermore, one of the merits of this argument is that it will help provide a good work-life balance for the staff which in return increases the productivity of the staff. It is commonly said that "resting is part of working" which means, a staff functions optimally with adequate rest and exercise. This rest could be by having some distractions from the workplace environment. Moreover, being engaged in other extra curriculum activities can help build a great network of people, this, in turn, can help the organisation especially for staff in the sales and marketing department. For instance, with adequate exercise and,sports the sales and marketing staff will be of great advantage considering the nature of their job. In spite of the benefits, this idea if not properly managed, might affect the company negatively in such a way that if the progress of the staff at the club is not measured, it could lead to a loss for the manager, because the result will not be noticeable on the staff thereby not relevant to the work-life of the employee. Also, the monetary value of the subsidy could lead to loss to the company. To conclude, it will be of substantial benefit to the employer if a reduced membership cost is offered and it is well utilized, so as to get the desired result of well-motivated staff. Performance appraisal is recommended to be carried out subsequently to determine the viability of the programme.