In some countries, employees are generally given two weeks of paid vacation time each year. In other countries, employees are given four or six weeks of paid vacation time. Considering the needs of both employee and employer, what do you think is a reasonable amount of paid vacation time for employees to have? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Every country has rules and regulations on the entitlements that employers should provide to their employees. One of such entitlements is paid vacation time. Depending on the country and employer, the amount of paid vacation time that employees get differs. In my opinion, employers should offer minimally 3 weeks of paid vacation time a year to their employees. Work-Life balance has been highlighted in the news articles often, more so since the beginning of the ongoing pandemic. Exhausted employees usually tend to be unproductive and inefficient. Employees should take a short break once in a while to recharge as well as to have some personal time with families and friends. 3 weeks of paid vacation time a year will give employees some options on how they want to energise themselves. Happy employees will be able to contribute more towards the company's goal and are likely to stay longer in the company. There has been a shortage of certain skill sets across the world. This translates to employers in the same industry competing with one another to get the most suitable employees. One of the benefits that can attract the potential employees is the number of paid vacation leaves provided. Granting a long period of paid vacation leaves could backfire employers as they might end up with half the number of employees at any given time. This, in turn, will affect the company's operation. On the other hand, offering just the minimum paid vacation time as required by the country's law might make the employer lose the battle against its competitor. In conclusion, while lawmakers should be mindful of both employers ' and employees ' points of view, employers should also consider all perspectives before deciding on the number of paid vacation leaves entitlement for their employees. While more weeks of paid vacation leaves may make employees happy, it may impact the employer's business. Similarly, only a few weeks of paid vacation leaves might drain the employee thought it might be beneficial to the employers. I believe that 3 weeks of paid vacation leaves would strike the balance for both employers and employees.