Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 percent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. Do you agree?

There is a controversial perspective heating a debate over whether it is necessary for enterprises to appoint more women to higher positions. While this thinking is valid to some extent, I would contend that position choices should be based on a person's ability rather than gender. On the one hand, it is understandable to note that growth in the number of women holding key positions can bring several redeeming features. Females have always been underestimated compared to their counterparts and been hindered from being decision-makers in a large company. Hence, little of their competence and voice has been shown. Should women be appointed more reasonably, they can have more opportunities to express their aptitude. Alice Walton, the founder of Walmart, can be cited as an outstanding example since she proved that not only males but also females could have the right to manage crucial functions. Therefore, it is favourable to recruit a woman for a more deserving position. On the other hand, it is undeniable to claim that the determinant factors of recruitment are an individual's qualifications and expertise, not gender. In other words, these are fundamental elements that decide if a person is worth being promoted or not. If upper managers select unsuitable people who are unable to handle their assignments to hold chief positions, this will lead to undesirable issues. For instance, due to the leader's incompetence, the companies might have to confront with the loss in productivity and revenue deficit, which might pose a threat to the business prosperity. As a result, employees' promotions should be based on their talent. In conclusion, while appointing women is of tremendous benefit, a person's ability and skills are the main factors to their possibility of recruitment.