Today, TV channels provide males' sport shows more than those of women. Why? Should TV channels give equal time to males and females' sports shows?

Similarly to the past, in today’s context, men's sport appears on the TV more than that of women. This essay will explain the factors behind this phenomenon and illustrate the opinion that females’ sport might have equal time with the males. On the one hand, there are a variety of elements contributing to this problem. A compelling one is that males account for the vast majority of sports players and audiences. To justify this, sport originally is a male-dominated area; accordingly, men are usually trained to participate in sports or they can become sports spectators more than women. Apart from that, obviously, men’s sport is much more appealing. To illustrate, the environment of males sport is cut-throat; thus, male’s athletes should push themselves to the limit to fit in the higher standards. For example, females’ tennis matches consist of 3 sets compared to those of males ’ 5 sets. On the other hand, TV channels should not provide more time for females’ sport. To begin with, it can reduce the broadcasters’ income from commercials. One reason is that there will be a lower source of the audience because people who watch women’s sport make up the minority; therefore, it will lead to a lower rating of people watching commercials during break time. Besides, enterprises can pay billions of dong for the commercials during break time; accordingly, if the rating of people watching are lower, broadcasters may lose their main lucrative activity. Moreover, if the time for females’ sport equals the males, TV channels will become tedious. Obviously, it will lessen a source of recreation. Furthermore, younger generations can not be inspired to participate in sports. Taking a glance at the preceding points, this issue is just a normal phenomenon from the past to today’s society and most people think it is an apparent thing on a daily basis. From my perspective, the idea that women’s sport should get the same time as males can bring various negative impacts to both broadcasters and audiences.