In modern times, young adults are spending less time with their families and more with friends. Why has this change occurred? Do you think parents should force their children to spend more time at home?

Nowadays, many people argue that youngsters are spending more time with their friends as opposed to their families. There are a lot of reasons behind this but the main reason I think is the lack of time that parents spend with their children. I strongly disagree that parents should force them to spend time with them. In this essay, I will give reasons behind this trend and some solutions that can help in better bonding between parents and their children. To start with, nowadays, parents are spending most of their time while working because of which they do not get enough time to spend with their children. This results in the youngsters spending more time with their friends. Secondly, young adults feel more open and comfortable with their friends and can share anything with their peers. For instance, a recent study shows that 70% of adults consider the lack of time the main reason behind them not having good communication with their children. However, this trend can be reversed if parents try to spend more time with their offspring. Forcing young adults to spend time with family might result in opposite effects. Also, parents should talk to their children every day about how their day was and what activities they did. This will result in a stronger bond between parents and their children. To illustrate this, a recent study in Delhi shows that parents who spend at least 3 hours with their children and involve in physical activities like playing are more likely to have a good relationship with their children. To conclude, I strongly think the main reason behind this trend is the decrease in the time parents spend with their children. Therefore, parents should spend more time with their children and should make them feel comfortable by talking about daily chores. Studies suggest that this behaviour might result in youngsters spending an equal amount of time with families.