The position of women has changed a great deal in many societies over the past 50 years. But these societies cannot claim to have achieved gender equality. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Gender equality is a right that both of male and female can enjoy the same position in policy, economy, and society. The past 50 years have seen changes of women ’s position in many societies. However, gender equality still has not been achieved completely. I similarly believe this and my reasons are twofold. In previous centuries, women were not allowed to have their career in the patriarchal society until an awareness of feminism appeared came out. However, most women still worry about quitting or losing their jobs when they are married and pregnant.  Undoubtedly, companies also consider this kind of uncertainty, so they will prefer to hire men than women, especially in a high position. This is the reason why women can work in a good company but they always have obstacles in front of their promotion. Women can have their own career and be commercial independent. In the mid-20th century, the movement of the second wave feminism, women argue that they should be allowed the same rights, power and opportunities as men. So far, there are many companies which provide almost the same career opportunities for women. Even though there is a complete system for maternity leave, women absolutely take their child and family as the first priority. Furthermore, women are always responsible for housekeeping and play a vital role in raising children. If gender equality is achieved, husband and wife should share their housework and spend quality time with their children in a fair way. The truth is that even though women are in a double-income family, wives always take more housework than husbands. Overall, without a doubt, women can almost enjoy the same rights as men now. However, humans still need to work hard to implement complete gender equality.