In many schools and universities today, women have a tendency to study the humanities (such as the arts and languages) while men more often major in science related subjects. Some believe this tendency should be changed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Different genders usually have variant attitudes against studying majors. It is widely known that science-related subjects are mainly favoured by male students and pupils, while their female counterparts are interested in social sciences. I agree with the group that supports the idea of diminishing or even eliminating this preference because it does not pertain to modern communities. To commence with, I reckon that this tendency is related to characteristics that have been inherited from our ancestors. In other words, in ancient societies, men were responsible for gathering food and being the breadwinner of the family, while women’s duty was to stay at home and look after children and the household. Thus, both of them physically and mentally evolved to adapt to their responsibility. Males became more masculine and in turn interested in building artefacts and solving complicated problems, whilst females developed their abilities in soft skills and humanities to bring up the children. That is the reason why men often prefer to settle on scientific majors and women like to pursue humanities. Nonetheless, in this present advanced world, people should not decide on their major based on obsolete stereotypes. For instance, there are plenty of successful women studying and working in the fields which are traditionally preferred by men. Furthermore, individuals should have equal opportunities to graduate in every major regardless of their sex, because this is the best way to recognize exceptional talents in every area and sexually diversify the study courses and jobs. To sum up, human society needs to have experts of both genders in every profession and eliminate the cliches regarding sex-specific majors. So, changing the current arrangement is of the essence. Governments, universities and schools should raise people's awareness to encourage them to choose majors without considering gender.