In many schools and universities today, women have a tendency to study the humanities (such as the arts and languages) while men more often major in science related subjects. Some believe this tendency should be changed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether the gender distribution in school subjects should be modified as female students tend to pick up art while men are more likely to choose a major in science. In my opinion, it could be a valuable change and ruin the outdated stereotypes about gender predisposition in definite areas. On the one hand, the unequal distribution of expertise in certain fields such as engineering, arts and teaching are already have brung to a lack of diversity in these areas. In cases when only a certain part of people is doing something the necessity of the rest one will be taken into account not completely. For example, the overwhelming majority of men in the IT-sphere led to the discomfort of using mobile phones by women because of obvious physical differences in hand sizes. On the other hand, choosing a specialization is not always a personal choice. The intense pressure of public opinion in what sections the male or female should be realized is the strong motivation to study not the most interesting major. For instance, there is a very common situation when girls are afraid to go to technical university due to the stereotype that it is too difficult for them and men are likely to handle with it. In sum, the tendency to choose to study certain subjects depending on gender is harmful to individuals and society in general. I believe, that the gender balance in humanities and exact sciences will make the world more comfortable and people in it rather satisfied.