Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The job providers usually demand private information including applicants’ favorite activities or their relationship status which can be considered irrelevant by some, beneficial and necessary by others. As far as I’m concerned, asking for a huge amount of personal information appeals to unnecessary and nonsense. In this essay, I will examine these contrasting opinions and provide my point of view in detail. First of all, from the eyes of an employer, it might seem like a vital process to get to know their employees well in case of possible problems they may face in the future. For instance, an employee who has just married has a higher possibility of having a baby in the near future than a single one which will force the employer both to provide enough money for that new parent and to search for a novel temporary worker. On the other hand, there should be respect for humankind’s privacy. I reckon, everyone must have a right to decide on what to share with others and what to keep for themselves. Moreover, it is not logical to choose an employee based on one’s hobbies and interests due to the fact that it might create an unconscious bias. For example, a boss who wants a colleague fitting to his own thinking style, undoubtfully doesn’t care about experiences or skills that applicants have which in fact is more significant. Therefore, not only does an employer hire an unskillful person but also, he creates an unfair situation for other applicants. To sum up, when all the above-mentioned opinions are taken into consideration, for me, it’s better not to ask the exaggerated amount of personal information as well as to respect every individual’s life even in job interviews.