Some employers are giving increased importance to employing people with good social skills in addition to good qualifications. Do you agree or disagree that social skills are as important as good qualifications for success in a job?

Employees plays a significant role in an organisation. In recent years, managing directors hire the experienced candidates with good communication skills rather than their educational backgrounds. My feelings on the issue are mixed. I do support the position that social skills are significant as the employee’s effectiveness helps in better job outcomes, but I find the argument of good qualification to be equally persuasive because it brings the confidence in employees which helps in better decision making. The social skills are important at workplace because it reduces the conflicts and brings new opportunities. The experienced workers know how to deal with the clients and their colleagues. Moreover, employers labour cost gets reduced when they hire the employees with basic skill. In some jobs for instance in sports career, the basic skills like strength and teamwork are more important than good qualifications. In similar way, the food industry like dominos pizza and subway requires good communication skills and cooking skills instead of higher degrees to increase the sale of an organisation. The good qualification of an individual plays a significant role as it improves the confidence of employees. Many white-collar job duties require an education and training programs to deal with problems. As an example, jobs like surgeons or physicians requires a good qualification like MBBS degrees to perform surgeries and examining patients instead of basic skills to perform their jobs. In similar way, teachers and lawyers need to master their skill to achieve their goals. In conclusion, social skills and good qualification are equally important to perform a duty. Therefore, the recruiting managers should look upon the job specifications to hire the candidates.