Interviews form the basic selection criteria for most large companies. However some people think that an interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ and there are other better methods. To what extent do you agree it disagree?

Large companies recruit employees based on their performance in an interview. But some believe that there are better methods to select a person to be part of the company. I agree with the view that there are other reliable methods to assess a person for a job. Out of all the reasons, the foremost one is that a one-day event like an interview cannot provide adequate information about a person's professional skills. As interviews are held either in- person or through an online mode in some instances, the interviewee's stress levels can interfere with their performance in the interview. On the other hand, an interview can, at times, give a deceptive picture even though he or she is not well suited for the company. For example, a person who can verbally convince the interviewer that they have the skills to be a software engineer, might not be efficient in situations that require one to function under pressure and meet deadlines. Another reason that I think that interviews are not an apt way of hiring an employee is that personal biases and the mental state of the interviewer at the time of the event can affect the outcome of the process. For example, if the interviewer is biased toward individuals of a certain nationality or race, an ideal candidate might be missed out because of the negligent actions of the interviewer. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that I prefer a more reliable method than interviews to recruit an employee. This is because interviews cannot give an accurate picture of the applicant's professional skills and the personal biases of the interviewer can affect the outcome of the process. A better alternative to interviews would be to, filter out individuals based on educational and professional qualifications for the job and evaluate them during a probationary period where tasks of varying complexities are used to assess the individual. This can give the company the exact representation of a person's abilities.