Nowadays it is easy to apply for and be given a credit card. However, some people experience problems when they are not be able to pay their debts back. In your opinion, do the advantages of credit cards outweigh the disadvantages?

The debate surrounding the use of credit cards has polarized communities. In fact, globalization has offered easy access to those who want to own one of them. However, many people have become slaves of their easy use. In light of the above, I object to forbidding the use and the accessibility of credit cards for the several upsides they have. To begin with, things that were just unthinkable decades ago, are now possible. In particular, not only do credit cards allow customers to do online shopping but also they allow to purchase goods and services from other parts of the globe. Nowadays, European people can stream American tv shows and eat exotic foods that they have bought online thanks to credit cards. In addition, credit cards tackle the eerie phenomenon of tax evaders. Specifically, each transaction is carefully checked by authorities. Therefore, what they do is to act as a deterrent and stop evaders to offend. Conversely, the disadvantages are related to those who are victims of consumerism and criminals frauds. Firstly, the ease whereby these cards allow to buy products at the click of a button could be potentially dangerous for those who are victims of fast-fashion. This is why a great number of poeple have astronomically high bills to pay at the end of the month. Secondly, the contactless system has ridiculously increased the rate of scams. Namely, criminals need just to stay close to their victims. Nonetheless, these disadvantages could be stopped with a plateau and proper regulations. To conclude, I strongly believe that the benefits of credit cards trump the downsides. They concern the opportunity to reduce the number of tax evaders and to have access to several services and products. Hence, the few drawbacks are insufficient to stop an innovation that humans had been waiting for centuries.