Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employee. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Some intend that universities should value educational courses associated with future career enhancement, while others argue that students must opt the higher education courses for gaining in-depth learning without solely concentrating on job abilities. According to my opinion, a university education ought to provide a combination of both, and this essay will discuss both views including my perspective on this issue. More and more students these days enrol in higher-level courses for obtaining aptitudes related to their preferred profession. For example, a person may land well-paying employment by getting a degree and expertise experience at University before. These jobs need high-level skills and a workforce in every labour market. For instance, for the medical field career, one needs to obtain deep knowledge of medicines and training to implement medical treatments on actual patients under expert supervision. Therefore, it can only be possible if universities provide technical and other work-related skills to graduates. However, the value of attaining wisdom and enlightenment for learners is also an undeniable aspect of university education. This can be linked to the fact that before accomplishing high-level transferable skills it is compulsory to learn how to think critically and analytically to process large amounts of information quickly. Additionally, the university provides one the academic qualification to achieve a career, but the character is expected to maintain such a job. For example, one cannot stay long-term in a job if he lacks expertise knowledge, building healthy relationships and work attitude. In conclusion, I believe that a balanced approach could be attained by universities for learners to provide skills regarding strong character and work, whereas imparting knowledge and helping learners undergo character development could be the initial purpose of the higher education system.