Some people believe that a country will benefit greatly by a high percentage of young people going to universities. Others argue that it only leads to a higher unemployment rate. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

University is the start of an individual's higher education and is an essential requirement for employment. There are a number of pros as well as cons of attending university and a few of them are outlined below. Going to university provides the young generation an opportunity to develop social skills while also being a kickstarter to the journey of turning into an adult. It helps young people become more independant as they become less dependant on their family. This benefits the country's younger citizens greatly as they start living like adults. It also aids them to make their own decisions for themselves. A degree is often the bare minimum required for a job. Therefore, owning a degree from a university can be quite helpful to an individual. It also increases the chances of one getting a job. In simpler terms, the probability of a person with a degree getting employed would be significantly higher than that of a potential employee without a degree. Another added benefit of a degree is that the salary of workers with a degree is comparatively higher as opposed to someone without one. There are a number of drawbacks of universities as well. Primarily, university is extremely expensive. Even with a partial scholarship, the cost of living along with the fees would have many students taking out loans. Secondly, the competition between people would sky-rocket. This is mainly because freshly graduated students with no experience would cause tough competition between people applying for jobs. The competition between potential employees for the job market however would almost always exist in the world. This is a phenomenon that cannot be prevented by any means. Hence, in my opinion, young people should always choose attending university for their own betterment in the future.