Some employers offer their employees subsidised membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate, and reach a conclusion.

It comes no denying that higher productivity and efficiency are core objectives that modern enterprises want to achieve. However, there is a controversial issue about whether making employees healthier and thus more effective at work by offering subsidised membership of gyms and sports clubs to them is beneficial to the company. By considering its pros and cons, I perfer the former, I believe workers with better physical condition would not only enhance the output of their work, but also create a postive atmosphere and enivornment in the workplace. Admittedly, offering subsidised training programmes for employees may increase the cost of HR departments and give extra financial burden to the company. Since in a result-oriented world, workers prefer direct financial rewards such as bonuses and pay increments than perks. In addition, if sports clubs and membership schemes are provided to their staff, more time and efforts will be spent on work-unrelated activities, the workforce will certainly drop. Therefore, the merits brought by making employees heathier are neglected by employers. In contrast, plenty of research shows that the benefits of improving the physical and mental health of employees far outweigh the costs, especially for the long term development of enterprises. Regarding productivity and working environment, healthier workforce is essential. As health-awareness has increased in recent years, people want healthier jobs and a work-life balanced lifestyle which are the things they want to pursue other than decent pay and bright job prospect. Moreover, better well-being can establish higher anti-pressure ability for long hours or high intensity works, sick leave rate can be lowered as workers have stronger immune system. Also, it allows them to complete tasks efficiently and with high quality. Apart from that, exercise always makes people happier, which helps to establish a relaxed and pleasant working environment and build dynamic work teams. Staff will be more motivated if the company offers it as a reward after their performance appraisals. All in all, the benefit of offering sports is not as superficial as it seems. As an enterprise with humanistic spirit, it should pay more attention to the physical and mental health of employees, which will definitely make the company more popular.