Climate change is a big environmental problem that has become critical in last couple of decades. Some people claim that humans should stop burning fossil fuels and use only alternative energy resources, such as wind and solar power. Others say that oil, gas and coal are essential for many industries, and not using them will lead to economic collapse.

Climate change is the most urgent issue facing us today and it will lead to an environmental catastrophe on a global scale, if decisive actions are not taken. Many believe that using fossil fuels should be abandoned while the others consider it impossible. I agree with the first group and think that human should find clean sources of energy to avoid dire consequences of global warming. One the first hand, researchers proved a strong connection between burning fuels and the climate crisis.Burning of fossil fuel to generate power releases carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases into the atmosphere. Which in turn traps heat and increases the temperature on our planet. For example parts of Europe which used to be cooler now experience intense,searing heat and the temperature soars above average in summers. Moreover, extreme weather has become more frequent than before and parts of the world suffer widespread flooding regularly. For instance India experienced a destructive flood recently that by its end 200 people were dead. On the other hand, applying renewable energy sources not only does not harm the economy, but also will create new industry and job opportunities accordingly if the changes are applied gradually. Moving to clean and renewable energy such as solar and wind energy will create new plants and offshore wind farms. There are many successful examples of using clean energy sources around the world. For instance Germany supplies 60 percent of its electricity from solar power. To conclude, although many industries depend on oil and gas nowadays, it is absolutely vital that we change our ways to reduce our carbon footprint.Developing alternative energy sources should be governments’ first priority, otherwise the world will suffer long term environmental issues.