Job applicants’ social skills are more important. Some employers believe that job applicants’ social skills are more important than their academic qualifications. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is often argued that employees’ hard skills are least necessary than their social abilities. However, this way of thinking is more common in the old generation. I disagree with the opinion that scientific knowledge is the most significant thing that employees need to have to enter the job place, and in this essay, I will explain the reason for this belief. First and foremost, although social capabilities will help employees to communicate with others and leads to getting promoted quickly in the job places, it can be nothing if someone has no technical capabilities to get the work done. For technical roles such as Data Scientists and Software engineers, even though it is valuable if they can communicate with the business partner properly, the most crucial qualification is to be able to do Mathematics, Statistics, and Machine Learning. For instance, in a company, the higher level in one technical position, the more you are expected to make a quick decision based on the evidence of the analytic results and this is supported by a thorough understanding of the concept of academic theory. Thus, someone will be able to make proper results of every analysis done throughout their work and avoid errors. Secondly, if anyone has expertise in the technical knowledge proven by their academic qualifications, this will be an added value if they want to enter a workplace. Especially with the abundance of people in the productive ages, there will be a high supply of human resources so it will be beneficial if someone has their own unique value. For example, a hiring manager will hire someone to fill the position of Data Analyst if they also have knowledge in marketing and business proven by their university transcript. This way, they can compete their skills with other candidates and could get the job more easily. To conclude, although communication and social skills are valuable, academic qualification remains the top priority to choose a candidate for a job position in the industry.