Interviews form the basic selection criteria for most large companies. However some people think that interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Interviews are typically the primary selection criteria for large companies. There is some criticism of using interviews to recruit employees, with the argument that this method is ineffective. I agree that there are ways to improve the accuracy of the hiring process. Group activities and personality quizzes can be used complementary to get a better sense of who would be a good fit for the job. The importance of interviewing when it comes to selecting new peers to integrate a team cannot be dinned. It has proved to be the most traditional and practical framework largely adopted worldwide. It can offer vital insights about an applicant and lead to more informed decisions. However, individuals often act like “robots” when being interviewed, answering questions in a way recruiters will be happy about. Hence, other approaches should be introduced for a more genuine understanding of the candidate's capabilities. Modern organisations are already introducing new techniques to choose their talents effectively. Group activities aim to simulate real work environments and are designed to capture candidates' behaviour in complex situations where pressure and conflicts are frequent. When performing the tasks, individuals tend to express their real selves, values and logical thinking. The findings from the experiment can then be combined with the interview results and used in the selection process. Another way to further assess the job seekers' profiles is by assigning them personality quizzes. Quizzes are powerful tools that can be used to gather information about a professional’s strengths and weaknesses. Such tests can detect which professionals can naturally act like mediators and which need to be led by others. If one of the criteria set for the role is to hire someone with leadership skills, mediators may be the most appropriate choice. In conclusion, interviews will always play an important role in the recruiting process as they are insightful, simple and straightforward. Nevertheless, when combined with other methodologies, such as group activities and quizzes, the outcomes of an interview can be verified. As a consequence, the hiring process may become more precise and efficient.