Interview form the basic selection criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ and there are better methods. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

Employers follow a wide variety of screening methods to identify the best candidate. Although interviews continue to be the most common process, there are several other trusted methods in the contemporary era. I am of the opinion that a blend of interviews and other screening methods should be the criteria for selection. With the advent of the internet and enhanced global travel, job seekers have the ability to search for the desired job, resulting in an increased number of job applicants for each job posting. As a result, conducting interviews for each candidate may not be feasible and recruiters must discover alternate screening methods by considering the nature of the jobs. For instance, in technology companies, candidates are given scenarios to code and the final outcome will be evaluated. Therefore, the additional evaluation will not only provide the employers with confidence but also reduce the count of applicants for interviews.