In some companies, social skills are given priority over qualifications when screening their possible employees. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation. Provide specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

When screening potential employees, qualifications are less important than social skills. However, there are several advantages and disadvantages of this situation. Hence, I will discuss both sides and deliver my opinion below. Social skills are the predominant factor that helps employees to adapt quickly to a new workplace environment. It will be challenging for those who are shy and afraid to make a movement for small talk in order to create a good atmosphere among co-workers. Working with people requires a high communication skill to deliver ideas and needs precisely. For instance, if there is a fresh graduate who shows lack of gestures, such us cannot fully confident when expresses ideas, co-workers will doubt their ability to do a task. Also, being intiative is also one of the example of having a good social skill. People who know the challenges that are facing by the company can give a great solution. Hence, there will a chance to get a promotion. On the contrary, there are disadvantages of focusing too much on social skills. Employees will get overwhelmed with the amount of tasks when they do not have any specific skills to help them finish them. Also, having great skills that match with the company's needs can give chances to get a high salary and move to a higher-level position. Furthermore, academic validation is needed to check the responsibility of employees to finish their studies, which can be dug deeper in the interview process. Checking employees ' study backgrounds and abilities can help a company assess and consider whether they will be capable of being involved in company's cultures and be responsible for a particular job. In conclusion, social skills are essential to have great networks with people from different positions. However, having a specific skill that can benefit a company is more crucial because it can give many opportunities that I have mentioned above. Thus, I'm not convinced that social skills are more important than qualifications when choosing potential employees.