Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contributions to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others. To what extent is this style of management effective? Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

In recent times more and more employers are seeking ways to enhance their employees' productivity. There are various methods for this purpose, such as pay increments, bonuses, and incentives. While some believe that incentivizing workers with money can be beneficial, others think it has some troubling effects. Although encouraging them to contribute more by means of money is somehow a useful method, there seem to be more apt approaches. To begin with, it is true that providing staff with ample money in order to value their determined efforts could be considered helpful. By doing this, they become highly responsible and work best to upgrade their skills so as to improve their company’s identity. However, when it comes to privileged staff, money is not something that can motivate them in their working environment, because they already have a huge sums; thus, there need to be some other approaches that suit best all workers. Turning to some other styles of driving forces for employees, providing educational services are the most effective. Those in charge can recommend on-the-job training or day-release programs for whom tend to upskill their abilities and acquire more knowledge. This may even result in achieving better career progression and job prospects for them. Moreover, by completing various courses, workers may be able to show better performances during their working time, which in turn leads to better performance reviews and appraisals made by their seniors. To conclude, even though providing staff with more money can be attractive, there are some ongoing training programs that would appear to be a better use of company or human resources budgets.