Nowadays it is easy to apply for and be given a credit card. However, some people experience problems when they are not be able to pay their debts back. In your opinion, do the advantages of credit cards outweigh the disadvantages?

In this contemporary society, owning a credit card has become easier than ever before. Nevertheless, this fact also puts a number of people to risk of being in debt. Although using credit cards is undoubtedly convenient, I believe that the demerits somehow exceed the merits. There are some advantages of being given a credit card. Firstly, this small card is so handy that it can be utilized in most shopping areas. In other words, thanks to the credit card, there is no need for customers to carry cash with them or the shop assistants to count and hold that money. Secondly, taking a credit card is advantageous for some folks as they can pay the bills even when they have no monetary ability at that moment. More specifically, the bank will be willing to lend you a sum of money in advance with no interest rate within a certain period of time. For instance, last month, as being in need of a new fridge, I paid for it by credit card whilst waiting for my salary to come, which was super useful. Therefore, owing to the benefits of having a credit card, it has become a popular stuff everyone has with them. Despite the above pros, the difficulties of being unable to clear the debt harmfully affect a person's family and his own psychology. Initially, getting into debt, a person is blamed to be a heavy burden for his family as the partner is responsible for sharing the debt. In fact, myriad couples are in jeopardy of breaking up when facing financial problems. Additionally, ending up in huge debt has adverse impacts on a person's mental health as well. It seems obvious that having the freedom to get whatever a man desires rob him of financial security. By this I mean, if someone loses his self-control, an impulsive attitude toward buying can lead to other mental issues such as self-esteem or substance abuse. To conclude, the rewards offered by credit cards make them handy financial tools, but everyone should consider the risks before getting in. To avoid getting into trouble, couples and families should work on budgets together, whenever possible.