Some people feel that certain workers like nurses, doctors and teachers are undervalued and should be paid more, especially when other people like film actors or company bosses are paid huge sums of money that are out of proportion to the importance of the work that they do.  How far do you agree?  What criteria should be used to decide how much people are paid?

One of the major issues that concern our society today is whether some occupations, such as doctors and teachers, should be paid equally as actors and company bosses do. Strong arguments exist for this viewpoint, which implies that it is worth examining its perspective before reaching any conclusion. To begin with, in this day and age, it is widely known that celebrities are well-paid compared to others. To my mind, technology plays a pivotal role in their earnings. For instance, except for their regular job, they have the chance to make collaborations, through social media, with companies and advertise many products based on their fame. In this way, they increase their monthly income. However, this is not the case for other occupations, like doctors and teachers, who do not have any other option in order to increase their wages. Hence, they end up receiving much less money compared to their services. From my point of view, jobs, like doctors and teachers, are extremely demanding and have many responsibilities. For instance, doctors face numerous difficult situations which are related to human life, as well as teachers are around children and they need to be careful with their behaviour and pay attention to their student's psychology. For all of these reasons, I think that these jobs need to be much more well-paid compared to others. In conclusion, it is my firm belief that this situation needs to change and action must be taken. Never before have we seen celebrities and company bosses receive a such huge amounts of salary. People in power could help and support financially other occupations by increasing their salaries.