In some countries, if people need to find work, they have to move away from their families and their friends. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In some parts of the world, people must sometimes leave their countries, families and friends in order to seek work. While they obviously have a good reason to make such a hard decision, I believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, the great advantage is to be able to earn a living in another country. If they are unable to find work in their own country, many men join the global migration of labour. Leaving their families, they become economic migrants, sending money home if they are able to find work. In France, for example, many migrant workers from North Africa work in the construction or service industries, in order to support a family in their native country. If they had not moved to another country and found work, their family would have remained poverty-stricken and without hope for the future. On the other hand, there are too many disadvantages if this situation is allowed to continue. Firstly, local populations are sometimes prejudiced against migrants and their families, and so they find it difficult to integrate into society. Secondly, they may have to accept work in the host country that is low-paid and labour-intensive, and a working environment that is dangerous and unhealthy. Finally, this movement of labour has consequences for developing countries. It results in the disappearance of traditional ways of life, the destruction of ties of kinship and close-knit families, while economic activity is left in the hands of an aging population. The loss of the youngest and most active members of the community is incompatible with a sustainable future for that county. In conclusion, although workers and their families may be forced to move abroad in order to improve their lives, the drawbacks outweigh the benefits.