Many businesses think that the new employees who graduate from schools lack basic interpersonal skills, such as working with colleagues as a team. What has caused this and what are solutions to the problems?

It is becoming more widespread in many parts of the world that new postgraduate employees are believed by plenty of companies that have no experience in any corporate sector. There are several causes for this matter, however, various measures could be taken to improve the situation. There are a variety of different factors in this phenomenon. To begin with, the advancements in technology, especially in the Covid-19 pandemic, increase interaction through the Internet and social platforms such as Facebook, Email, Zalo, etc. It means that university students are used to communicating or completing group work through such modern devices as laptops and mobile phones rather than holding team meetings in real life. As a result, they are not willing to have face-to-face conversations to improve soft skills in the tech-savvy era. Another contributing factor to mention is that the learning syllabus at school does not provide too many teamwork projects and assignments. This is because lecturers usually focus on theoretical knowledge rather than social basements such as interpersonal skills. For example, as reported by Vietnam Express in 2020, more than half of teaching programs at IU University are allocated to macro theories, therefore, students become passive and lack crucial teamwork skills. Despite these serious causes, there are several actions that individuals and schools could take to solve the problem. Firstly, a simple solution would be for students is participating in numerous clubs or voluntary organizations. Nowadays, every university has a lot of voluntary projects to help the elderly or the underprivileged in the border provinces each summer, individuals can join these realistic events to develop basic interpersonal skills. As for schools, there should have more special classes to equip students with the necessary knowledge before they go on internship. Besides, schools should conduct workshops to invite experienced speakers with the aim of sharing about the practical environment at work. As a result, students can have a broad view of the office atmosphere to prepare themselves better. For example, as reported in Times in 2022, most universities in England organize actual business tours on an annual basis to provide vital knowledge for learners. In conclusion, the phenomenon that students lack teamwork skills is considered a big problem in current days. This tendency is unlikely to be eliminated in the short term. However, various measures could be taken to tackle the issue that both students and universities should take into consideration.