Some employers offer their employee subsidized membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Consider the arguments from both aspects of possible debate, and reach a conclusion.

In an attempt to have a more fit and healthy workforce, a plethora of companies are giving out membership of gymnasiums and sports clubs at a price minimised with subsidy. The aim is to make these workers more productive. However, a significant group believes this is not beneficial. In this essay, I intend to highlight both the positive as well as negative sides of the argument. With the ongoing work pressure and continuous competition among colleagues, many employees feel exhausted and stressed. Some quality time spent running on a treadmill or playing tennis can reduce this fatigued feeling. Moreover, this is a healthy way to reduce cholesterol and blood pressure, whose unexpected variation is a common issue in society. For instance, my friend's husband died at an age of thirty-nine last year due to a heart attack. The doctors blamed his habit of sitting and working for half a day without any exercise as the reason for this untimely death. Additionally, it has been observed that many new joiners often struggle to collaborate with old workers and their projects suffer. These members may get opportunities to chat during games and develop a friendly relationship, thus contributing positively towards the growth of the company. In contrast, many bosses believe that their subordinates may exploit the time spent participating in games in a different manner. For example, they may get into a fight in the field that may hamper their job. Sadly, many employees harbour a habit of changing jobs in a small span of time, which consequently may disrupt the rapport that this company has with a particular health club, thereby projecting a bad image of the company. To conclude, I believe every individual should do some sort of exercise and inculcate any game of his choice in his daily schedule. This helps in breaking monotony and makes the world a more beautiful place to live in. The moves made by various organisations in distributing gyms and sports club memberships are helpful for society only when used judiciously by the holders.