Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer.

Centuries ago, hobbies and interests used to indicate an individual's social status. Nowadays, they represent what has been trending on social media, and even though I partially agree with the statement above, some people believe that a hobby or an interest reflects a person's desire. Following a popular trend is a natural human thing to do. Humans are known to be easily influenced. For example, being exposed to the same thing repeatedly can alter the individual's wants and desires without realizing it. Another reason would be that the higher the demand for hobbies, the supply more it becomes available and accessible, which, in turn, makes them more popular and the centre of the moment. With that being said, some people develop a niche that could be passed on by family members, by Inheriting collections of rare stamps or cards. Some people gain an interest in their childhood and stick with it; for the rest of their life, their interests and hobbies reflect who they are. To sum up, nowadays majority of people are easily influenced into a new interest or a hobby, but others have an interest and hobby that reflects with they enjoy