A REPORT INDICATED THAT MANY CHILDREN BETWEEN 7 AND 11 SPEND TOO MUCH TIME WATCHING TELEVISION AND / OR PLAY VIDEO GAMES. HOW DOES THE PROBLEM AFFECT THE CHILDREN, THEIR FAMILIES AND SOCIETY? WHAT MEASURES CAN BE TAKEN TO CONTROL IT?

Spending much time in front of a screen is a big issue at present days. A study reported that many children, whose age is ranging from 7 to 11 years old, are used to consuming a lot of time watching TV or playing video games. This behaviour affects their concentration ability and retard their relationship with their family and society. Consequently, parents should develop their awareness about how to utilize their time and put limits to control screen time for children. Firstly, when children dedicate all their time to staying in front of screens even watching TV or playing video games, They decrease their ability to concentrate. For example. Many studies are showed that there is a parallel correlation between ADHD,a disease makes children easily distracted and loss of focus, and the amount of screen time. As a result, if parents allow children to spend much time watching or playing games, this affects them negatively. Secondly, children should utilize much time trying to develop their social skills by contacting their family and their friends. this will widen their horizons and allow them to enjoy family time. they should have the chance to learn how to build relationships. Subsequently, if children waste their time playing games and watching TV, they will lose their ability to communicate with others. This will lead to a connected society. Finally, parents should be aware of all these drawbacks and they should limit their children's screen time. In addition, parents have to engage their children in the daily life detail and enhance family visits. Also, they should encourage children develop friendships with neighbours and schoolmates. Hence, children will use to utilise their time in a good way. In conclusion, wasting time on children with screens is very harmful to their concentration and relations with family so it will lead to a disconnected society with fewer pioneers.