The reason that most people are in debt is the overuse as well as irresponsible use of credit cards. Banks ought to do a background check and only issue credit cards to individuals who have the ability to pay back their debts. What is your opinion?

In this present age, credit cards play a major role; they are like a pre-approved loan that helps customers in times of emergency or in-store purchases on credit. Overusing or using credit cards carelessly is the main cause of debt for most people. In my opinion, banks should conduct a background check before issuing affinity cards to individuals who can afford to repay their financial responsibilities. Let us discuss more about this topic in the upcoming paragraphs. Firstly, one of the severe issues is potential overspending on credit cards. Most shopaholics or impatient buyers do not think twice about buying items that are worth more than their monthly income. However, if the customers fail to pay the monthly due, they will end up paying a high rate of interest. To cite an example, interest rates can be as high as 3% per month, which aggregates to 36% per year. If there are any unpaid amounts, the interest will accumulate and become a burden. Secondly, credit card fraud is quite common these days. Although banks have taken measures to improve their fraud prevention systems, hackers and fraudsters always find new ways to loot. For example, Credit card frauds like identity theft, credit skimming, and lost or stolen cards are so common in our country. Thus, card companies have to be extra vigilant before issuing credit cards and make sure the customers have sufficient monthly income and a good credit score. To conclude, credit cards are really helpful for one's financial health. In fact, credit cards are a helpful tool to reduce your expenses by taking advantage of reward points. Check the interest rates and processing fees before applying for credit cards.