Recent research has shown that within the European Union the largest difference between the earnings of men and women exists in the UK. Many equal rights campaigners believe that immediate action should be taken to close the gender pay gap. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

In recent years, the UK leads to the most distinctive salaries based on gender in the EU, thus law defenders say that some steps should be taken in order to decrease the pay gap. I agree that when companies are willing huge sums, they have to take into consideration employees' skills regardless of identities. On the societal level, people have equal rights despite their race, religion, and gender in all developed countries. Women have to demand fair wages as long as they work in the same position as men. This situation should be strongly related to discrimination and illegal against females in developed societies. Unfortunately, some people believe men, as breadwinners, should allocate money to their families, they have to be paid extra, as their obligations are much more than women. Whereas, in Japan, it is asserted that hardworking is a power, thus, discrimination in paying process is against their moral principle. Therefore, everyone has to take what they deserve in terms of working hard. This approach encourages women to work hard because they believe that they hardly get less money because of their identities. From the governmental prospect, it should be tackled this issue for some reasons. Firstly, social inequality, such as a huge pay gap can discourage women to work and it seems not worth working. Secondly, in society, the woman has a role as a housewife and sometimes they have to sacrifice their career because of taking care of their children. If they are paid fewer sums, they are more likely to leave work. In these cases, there are some destructive effects on a government's budget, because the number of taxpayers might decrease, and in consequence, the income can diminish. In summary, I assume that females should get a fair salary as much as their male opponents with the same skills are paid because of reducing discrimination and remaining stable taxpayers numbers.