Nowadays children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some people think that these activities are not good for a child’s mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the last few years, particularly after the COVID-19 pandemic, young kids and adolescents spend much time watching television and playing online video games. This has been criticized intermittently by people who consider such activities, as dangerous to youth health and especially worrisome for a growing brain. I almost completely agree with this belief. In this essay, I shall explain my opinion with supportive ideas. Firstly, children spend a great amount of their time in online fun which therefore affects a lot on their physical activities. We know that, for childhood age, participation in social gatherings, sports and group activities is essential for their growth and development. Also, it is important to prepare them for their future life and successful working. Lack of these preparative life skills would affect them in their later working and happiness. Moreover, excessive usage of online games and TV dramas sometimes affects a child's personality and leads to isolation and mental illnesses and personality disorders. Next, apart from issues on personal health, there are internet criminals, who target innocent children as they are excessively involved with online games. These people build such games to attract kids to chase money and family. For example, a few years back, an unfortunate true incident happened which took the lives of many children. In conclusion, I completely agree that excessive television watching and internet games require attention as it is affecting child's mental health but also advise their limited usage rather than fully stopping.