Women and men are commonly seen as having different strengths and weaknesses. Is it right to exclude males or females from certain professions because of their gender?

It is widely perceived that women and men possess diverse advantages and disadvantages. Some consequently believe that gender should be a selection criterion for several occupations. Others argue that gender should not become a restriction. In my point of view, evaluation of competency should be based on abilities rather than gender. The field of science were dominated by men, and therefore the devotions made by women are often neglected. For example, in the twentieth century, Watson and Crick were awarded the Nobel Prize for solving the double helix structure of DNA. However, they would not have had the inspiration if Rosalind Franklin, a female biochemist, had not conducted X-ray diffraction on DNA molecules. This implied that women could contribute as much as men in the area which most people believe only men were able to excel. Although there are fundamental differences between men and women due to body composition, it is not the reason to completely exclude women from certain professions. Men are naturally born with more muscles and thus more physical strength. Women can barely defeat men in sports, which, however, does not mean a woman would never be a talented athlete. It is the capability that defines competency, not gender. In conclusion, in the era of gender equality, everyone has the right to develop their own career regardless of their sex. People should discard gender stereotypes and stop judging others by their gender. Supposing every gifted person dedicates themselves to the corresponding profession, it would benefit social progress and make the world a better place.