In companies, promotions to high positions should be given to employees inside the company and not to somebody outside the company or new hiring. Do you agree or disagree with this view

Some believe that only people, who have work experience in a company, should get promotions to important positions. I strongly disagree with this idea. On one hand, this notion can be understandable due to the fact that the ones at a high-end position make critical decisions for the company, which affect everyone. Therefore the concern is that somebody new may not have enough knowledge about the situation in the workplace to take this kind of responsibility. For example, a newly hired manager in an IT team might not be knowledgeable enough about computers and so not know how to organise his workers' tasks. Another point is that workers who have spent more time in the workspace deserve promotions because of their dedication and loyalty. In my opinion, none of the above written is true. Cases of non-competent people in power are just as likely if the person has worked in the same place before. Often when looking for outsiders the hiring team chooses people with great qualifications for the position and while mistakes are possible this rarely happens. Also, I do not think that being good in a certain job means that one will do well while having a leading role. For instance a software engineer more probably than not does not have the abilities needed to lead a team or work with the firm's finances. In conclusion, hiring somebody outside of the company does not mean there is a higher chance of bad decisions for the employees because probably the new worker has the experience and abilities to do their work well.