Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others. To what extent is this style of management effective? Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

Some companies give additional incentives to their employees when they make a contribution to the company. It is claimed that it has encouragement for some employees. On the other hand, it may have a negative effect on others. This essay completely disagrees with this kind of incentive as it discourages some employees, and I consider a rewarding strategy which is based on task completion is the best. Choosing an individual employee with an exceptional contribution to the company triggers negative competition among workers. Many employees cannot do exceptional things but they work in an effective way. If it is considered that most of the employees have such an approach to their work, negative competition might result in devastation for the company. For example, the same strategy in SOCAR, the biggest company in Azerbaijan, resulted in 50% of employees leaving their jobs and the company could not protect its market value for this. Thus, this strategy is very risky and should be avoided. On the other hand, companies may reward all of the employees based on task completion which is a better strategy. Firstly, all of the workers understand that they need to work hard and contribute to the company if they want to be rewarded. This may be a serious motivation for all of the employees. Also, as all members of the team work eagerly, they do tasks on time and the company itself may increase its revenues. This strategy was applied by the CEOs of APPLE company, and the annual revenues of the company increased sharply in a year. Because of this, I believe that companies should adopt a strategy to reward all employees to earn more and avoid any negative consequences. In conclusion, I totally disagree that the extraordinary contribution of individual employees should be rewarded; companies may choose a reward system based on task completion to have a better outcome.