Because of traffic and housing problems in the cities, the government encourages businesses to move to the rural. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The rising traffic and housing issues in big cities leads the government to encourage private institutions to move to the rural areas. This is a good way to tackle these issues, where less crowded cities may improve the residents’ well-being. Nonetheless, many adversities will occur if this solution is used, which can ultimately contribute to the country’s decreasing welfare in the future. There are a few advantages if the businesses shift to the countryside, leaving the cities only for citizens to live. Firstly, traffic jam will be more manageable due to the disappearance of commuting activities that are contributed by private institutions. Furthermore, more space will be provided for the residency area, so the cities will be less packed. Ultimately, urban cities will turn into a comfortable place, which may likely to affect the citizens’ happiness. However, many disadvantages will impact the country’s welfare if the businesses are relocated to the rural. Relocation is a costly activity, especially for big companies who already have existed since a long time ago. Moreover, there will be an increase of distance and commuting time for people who are employed by these companies and must work in the offices. In the long term, the commerce activities may likely to slow. Eventually, this will affect the overall economy of those countries. Public officials are recommending private companies to move to the countryside due to the traffic and housing problems. Despite few advantages, many negative effects will outweigh these positive effects if countries implement this solution.