some people get into debt by buying things they don't. need and can't afford. what are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

The behaviors of individuals in accumulating debt for buying things they do not need is a concerning financial problems that arise from poor financial management. This phenomenon is often observed in urban areas. In urban areas, the intense marketing strategy and the desire to prove their social class drive individuals to make an impulsive purchase. The limited financial ability to fulfill all material possessions leads individuals to take loans for buying things they cannot afford. If this behavior persists, without realizing it, the amount of debt will significantly increase. For example, in Jakarta, more than 50% of young people in the productive age are trapped in online loans with a higher interest rate. The pressure from society for young individuals to own the newest gadget, hangout in fancy restaurants, or own branded items as a status symbol will force them to take online loans with easier access and requirements. However, the high interest rates which range about 5% per day will give a huge burden to the young individuals with lower financial stability. Therefore, this phenomenon will create a vicious circle. Usually, young individuals tend to take other loans to pay their current loans. This behavior can result the significant number of debts which may lead to stress, distraction to daily life, and limited financial freedom. Given the significant negative impact of impulsive purchase behavior, this highlights the importance of distinguishing between wants and needs, having a mindful spending behavior, and prioritizing long term financial stability as a way to achieve a better financial management.