Some employers believe that job applicants’ social skills are more important than their academic qualifications. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are many factors for enterprises to hire new employees, such as the level of education and the social skills. Some think the former one is more crucial than the latter one. In my opnion, I firmly believe social ability is more important, and the following content will outline the reasons. Firstly, because of the completed educational system, most people in the country are well-educated, as a result, if the employers only use academic degrees to filter the applicants, the number of the candidates are still enormous. They should find a better way to choose the workers, for example, professional certificates, social experience or working experiences could illustrate more useful and helpful abilities for the employers. Hence, they can easily hire workers who are more expert in this field and also suit their demands. Secondly, teamwork and collaboration are the two most vital elements in companys company, therefore, social ability is crucial for workers to interact with the others. Furthermore, these days, the workplace diversity has become a trend of the whole world, people have different nationalities, races, socioeconomic backgrounds work in the same office. Nevertheless, it might lead to some potential crisis when people without social ability interact with each other, for instance, rude or offensive speech to certain groups in the workplace can contribute to conflicts, which seperate the team and even companys' cohesion. In conclusion, social ability is undoubtedly crucial. It is not only a personal skills to contact with co- workers but also a crucial factor to maintain a peaceful and productive workplace. According to these benefits, I strongly agree to hire workers depends on their social abilities.