In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose art subjects (e.g. literature) and boys tend to choose science subjects (e,g, physics). Why do you think this is so? should this tendency be changed?

It is argued that a vast majority of girls are highly passionate about studying art subjects rather than the other science ones namely physics, math and chemistry; while boys follow the opposite trend. In my opinion, it is mostly due to traditional attitudes, encouraging girls to avoid having masculine jobs in the future and definitely this phenomenon must be stopped. To begin with, girls underestimate their abilities to make the grade to be good students in science subjects so they prefer to study art; on the other hand, boys think they have to study science exclusively. Although a huge part of people live in cutting-edge societies they stick to their traditional beliefs. For example, parents put their boy scholars under pressure to become an engineer or a doctor as they think being an artist or a fashion designer is too feminine for a boy. Additionally, some families advise their girls constantly to study in subjects which are considered suitable for the female students regardless of their enthusiasms and abilities. Ultimately, both girls and boys are misinformed about their potentials and interests and they just try to follow the traditional rules. Consequently, making girls and boys study separate subjects, goes without saying to poses pressing problems. someday they may would not like the field they studied as they chose it based on the social trend not their willingness. So, obviously this trend must be changed. In more detail, if students try to decide what they study just according to their genders not only will not they feel fulfilment, but also they may feel a sense of being forced. More than this, a combination of both genders in all aspects makes a society develop in comparison to those who try to separate men and women. In conclusion, I restate my opinion that although the traditional thoughts have created a trend to force students, indirectly, to decide their fields of study based on their gender, this must be prevented due to its detrimental effects.