Graduates who cannot find work in their chosen field should be advised to do a second degree, rather than taking a job that does not interest them. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In 2024, it is a known fact that the labor market is quite intense for job seekers especially for individuals with the least career exposure or experience in their field such as new graduates. A few of these candidates resort to enrolling in additonals additionals accreditations to improve their likelihood of landing adequate employment as opposed to finding supplemental jobs while they search for occupation openings in their field of study. In this write-up, I will detail and express my opinion regarding this viewpoint. On the one hand, acquiring additional skills is a step in the right direction for entry level professionals. These newly obtained certifications can increase the probability of top companies perceiving these young talent as high value. For example, according to a 2022 medium blog, the big 5 companies in North America hired majorly prospects with both a bachelors and masters degree. Without a doubt, I concur with the standpoint of graduates gaining more education and knowledge in order to boost the possibility of obtaining a profound job. On the other hand, settling for a different employment outside one's industry of study seems underwhelming. More often than not, youth spend more time at their workplaces in comparison with the hours spent at home. From my perspective, a career should be something an individual has a strong passion for and not the opposite. To conclude, taking the risk of obtaining added accreditations to a professional's resume is probable to have a higher return of investment in terms of getting employed in the same field of study.